The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning

Free Shipping over $50

and free returns nationwide (rentals only)

14-day

Money Back Guarantee

The Art of Cruelty: A Reckoning 9780393343144

ISBN : 9780393343144
Publisher : WW Norton & Co
Author(s) :
Publication Date :
Overview Writing in the tradition of Susan Sontag and Elaine Scarry, Maggie Nelson has emerged as one of our foremost cultural critics with this landmark work about representations of cruelty and violence in art. From Sylvia Plath's poetry to Francis Bacon's paintings, from the Saw franchise to Yoko Ono's performance art, Nelson's nuanced exploration across the artistic landscape ultimately offers a model of how one might balance strong ethical convictions with an equally strong appreciation for work that tests the limits of taste, taboo, and permissibility.

$21.56

BackOrder

Leaves warehouse in 3 - 5 business days

List Price : $23.95

Savings : $2.39 (10% off)

or buy now & pay later with